Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Malt Loaf - as requested by Lyra and her mum!

Noah and Henry love this bread and can't get enough of this. It's wonderful toasted too.

This is from Sonia Allison's The Complete Bread Machine Book.

1 ¼ tsp instant or fast acting yeast
450g / 16oz strong white bread flour
1 tsp mixed spice
1 ½ tsp salt
2 tbsp oil
3 tbsp malt extract
2 tbsp black treacle
225ml / 8fl oz water
150g / 3 ½ oz raisins
Egg for glazing (optional)

I have a Panasonic breadmaker which dictates that I put the yeast in first. Most other machines add the wet ingredients first, then the dry. Follow the instructions for your own machine.

So for Panasonic machines:

Pour the yeast into the breadmaker and add the flour.
Add the mixed spice and the salt, then the oil, malt extract and black treacle. Finally, add the water.

Pack the raisins into the dispenser and set machine to white, raisin dough. If you're not using a Panasonic simply add the raisins when your machine tells you to, or at the beginning of the second kneading cycle.

NB (You can simply set the machine to white raisin bread and it will do everything for you but I prefer two smaller loaves. It's up to you)

When the dough is ready, take it out of the breadmaker and knead it very lightly before dividing it into two small, greased tins. Cover with oiled clingfilm and leave to rise for at least 30 minutes. I generally leave mine for an hour or so.

Bake in a preheated oven at 200C or 180 for a fan oven. My AEG incinerates everything if left to its own devices so I find 15 minutes and they're done but you might find 20 or 25 minutes is better in a less aggressive appliance.

I had to bake this today so thought I'd make this my blip! Hope you enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.