Poppa Duck

Keen to sit again today. Stiff breeze, intermittent sun. Again Momma Duck was not sitting on her eggs but snoozing in the long grass with her mate, the handsome fella above.

I sat on the seawall blipping them from some distance, not wanting to disturb their peace. After a while they woke up, had a bit of a stretch and a preen then took a wide berth around me to stand further along the seawall. Imagining I'd disturbed them I thought they would head out to sea.

Much to my surprise Poppa Duck turned and marched purposefully towards me! Momma following behind.

I GOT it, he's a quick learner and remembered I'd fed him once before on this spot. The pair waited patiently whilst I went into the house to fetch the last of the duck food. Poppa Duck was happy to eat within touching distance! Now I'm wondering if he'll be eating out of my hand by the end of the challenge; or is that just making these wild creatures too tame? Whichever, it felt kind of thrilling to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.