Too cold

...... to sit for Momma Duck and me. Both ducks have been unsettled all day and I've been trying to get some overdue work done. A day with a chill easterly, the rain starting as soon as you step out and the sun emerging whenever you go indoors.

Despite this I have been desperate to get out all day, just to sit. Eventually promised myself sitting as a reward for finishing the work. If you'd told me a week ago that I'd think of sitting as a reward I'd have questioned your sanity. But that's how it is - at least for now.

Nature? The wallflowers smelled heavenly after the rain. I worried about the eggs being cold - but what do I know? A solitary bee bumbled around house-hunting. A squad of eider were raucous playing around out on the water - with your eyes closed they sounded a little like Kenneth Williams! Sound clip here. Other than that all quiet, and cold, on the west coast.

Definitely rice pudding for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.