Flower or cat...

Flower or cat... guinea pig? Nope, the guinea pigs are hiding in straw. The tortoise goes to bed at 4pm. The cat was blipped yesterday. Flower...

As it was, I did see stuff to blip today but I was travelling at such high speeds in order to get from A to B in a lunch hour that I couldn't stop. Even for a blip. This is a sad scenario, but duty called and I managed to get back to my desk at 2pm on the dot. If I'd stopped to blip, I would have been late and that would have been bad.

My day started by bumping into an ex-colleague and now friend and neighbour, Sam. We chatted until I had to pop into the Post Office to send something special delivery. "Special Delivery?" asked the post office lady. "That's suspended until the volcano cloud goes away." Apparently the post office isn't guaranteeing next-day delivery due to the ash cloud. I assume that the post office staff don't fly from South London to London Bridge normally, so I don't think my particular special delivery item should be delayed. Honestly, what next - lack of coffee in the morning?

Amused, I made my way to the station and bumped into Sam again. This wasn't really a coincidence as I knew we would be getting the same train at that time to Blackfriars. I forced her to talk to me for the whole journey. I say "forced" because most people prefer to do their own thing on the commute into London and I should have asked if it was OK to blether, but I didn't. Luckily, she listened and didn't pick up her newspaper and turn away. She even conversed with me. Yay! Although I caught a few people tutting in our direction since talking companionably shouldn't be allowed. The commute train is for reading newspapers, making notes on wireless devices and making rushed, loud work/plumbing/childcare arrangements on mobile phones.

On the walk from Blackfriars to the Strand, I realised that the cormorants haven't been in their usual spots these past weeks (another bliportunity gone). I wonder if they're on nests somewhere up or down river. The gulls aren't in abundance either. Perhaps the fish are elsewhere? I spotted only two coots and three mallards.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.