Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Onstage at the MBT

That's the Mount Baker Theatre, which opened in 1927, and has been in continuous use since then. It's on the register of National Historic Places, was extensively renovated in 1996, and still has its original Wurlitzer organ. For more about the organ and the theater see here.

This was an unexpected bliportunity. I was walking down the alley alongside the theater and saw a group on the loading dock next to the open stage doors. It was the sound and lighting crew, taking a break from setting up for tonight's John Prine show. I asked one of them if I could go inside to take some photos. Although I didn't recognize him immediately, it was someone I know. He's my computer "doctor", and unlike MDs, he makes house calls. He inquired after the health of my computer, and explained a bit about the state-of-the-art theater sound and lighting systems.

It was an interesting (and lucky) visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.