horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Tranquil

Ah some things don't change... Two quick examples of the old side of this company still persisting.

One:

Apparently yesterday the accounts manager and the PA to the ex-boss were gossiping that I was late in on Friday and left early. To be fair they're right on both counts. On Friday I had an eye clinic appointment at 9.20am, sat for an hour without being seen, with indications that it would be some time yet before I would be seen, and so made a new appointment and left so as not to be there till lunchtime. And I left early. A whole 15 minutes early. After half the office had already gone, and (so I hear) the accounts manager left just after me.

Two:

The ex-boss appears to be very 'ex'. Over the weekend his name has disappeared from the sign-in board, and I know there's been some sort of dispute (not that you want to involve the company lawyer in that obviously). He's not been in for about four weeks, appearing in the company diary as 'tbc', and a glance in his office this morning sees it devoid of items. Not that we've been told he's no longer here. Not that I need confirmation that he won't be available for a court case in foreign climes and so need to push for a settlement in lieu of him appearing in the witness box. Communication never was a strong point in this company - I've asked the direct question from the person I'm liaising with on this foreign case AND the new chairman and been thanked for forwarding on information and they'll get back to me. That was four hours ago - reading between the lines of the reply I think the real message was, "Argh! What do we say? WHAT DO WE DO?!?!!" I might stir things up by saying I've now seen his empty office...

Just about managing to take my mind off the chickocalypse with work stuff and a lunchtime wander down by the Water of Leith and a really nice commute in on the bike with the promise of a tailwind home. Just hoping they've stayed as quiet as they had started to be during the whole day. Might actually ask one of the neighbours how they've been.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.