April Showers

In stark contrast with yesterday's writeup, today is a day filled with celebrations.
First off, I want to wish a happy, joyous, wonderful birthday to my dear friend Annie Skroski. Love you and miss you. I wasn't kidding when I said how much I wish I could have celebrated your birthday with you at Bernie's Southern Bistro. (Oh... the fried chicken.)

Secondably*, today is Stephanie's shower in Austin! I was very happy to be a part of the celebration as a hostess. Here are Stephanie and her darling aunt Marla. I love them both. After a long day of getting everything situated, the party began and, if I do say so myself, it was a success.

After the shower, Mom and I drove out to see my brother's new apartment. He's got a great location and the apartment really is wonderful. The girls have their own room when they're able to come stay with him. Tomorrow we get to see them again.. for the first time since we took them rock climbing.
For dinner, we made reservations at Olivia. Once again, the restaurant has made it on the Best Restaurant in Austin list.
My top two restaurants in the entire state of Texas are Bar Annie in Houston and Olivia in Austin. I dare you to beat them. (And, I welcome the challenge since I love eating fantastic food.)
Our menu consisted of:
foie gras, strawberry-rhubarb compote, toasted almonds, red wine syrup, brioche
crispy sweetbreads, garden radish, maple glaze
beef carpaccio, arugula, fried capers, shallots, sea salt, parmesan, dijon mustard

venison tenderloin, sweet potato puree, beet greens, juniper gastrique
scallops, hazelnut crusted?.. they've already changed the menu on the scallops
whole branzini, fresh baby radishes from their garden

chocolate : chocolate torte, chocolate syrup, chocolate wafer,
chocolate pudding
peanut butter pie : honey cream

man. i'm getting starving just thinking about what wonderful food we had. plus, we had a great 2001 vino nobile ie montepulciano to go with dinner. Reasonably priced to boot. The venison tenderloin was fantastic.
Thank you again, Olivia, for a wonderful evening. I'm glad my mom and brother could taste of your delights.

*yes, of course I know how to spell "secondly".. if you don't get it, you just don't get it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.