Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Nine?

Today was the day of the much feared meeting at my place of work. I'm still trying to work out exactly what happened, but it seems as though I shall not be going back to my job - it simply makes me too ill.

I'll have to find something else. And I'm about to go onto half pay, which isn't great (since I've yet to find a way to persuade shops to let me pay half price for stuff), but in some ways it marks a new beginning (trying to think positive here).

Last time this happened, I ended up cleaning toilets for a living. Hope I don't have to do that again, but if I do, I do. Have to make enough money to survive somehow or we face a drastic cut in lifestyle - move to a bedsit, rehoming cats etc. I'm simply refusing to think about that at the moment.

The Wonderspouse came with me as I drove the familiar route into work (just as well, since I was hardly able to talk during the meeting so he had to speak for me). He was very amused by the speed limit signs on the hospital site - 9mph? can it be true?

I'm absolutely sure that my car's speedometer isn't that precise at such speeds - but the sign makes a jolly blip!

For those of you who are interested: yesterday's blip was part of Beethoven's Piano Sonata No.32 Op.111. I blipped it because it was my 111th blip, and the number 111 always makes me think of that Sonata. The particular passage is a really groovy jazzy bit - listen to it sometime if you get the chance - you'll hear how amazingly ahead of his time Beethoven really was. GENIUS!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.