Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Sea Painting experiment

I was on my way over to meet Carl. We both got our eyes tested several months ago but weren't able to find frames that we were happy with. The ex-brother-in-law of one of our Grand Prix lunch-hosting gang is an optician, and we've been threatening for some time to talk to him about frames and lenses. He opens late on Thursdays, Carl was free, so we decided to sort things out so we'd both look stunning on on Croatian holiday. Joe looked after us well, was wonderfully patient as we mulled over this frame and that, and we walked away after some forty minutes considerably worse off financially but happy with our purchases. Carl's will be ready this day next week, while mine may take a few days longer because I'm going for three-way varifocals and special light-weight lenses and reactalight technology.

I got a bus down to the closest DART station (Dublin Area Rapid Transit) and got the DART from there to Dún Laoghaire. As we whizzed along I took a notion as I sat at the window and watched the scenery passing by. I wondered what things would look like if I set the camera to a long exposure and held it against the window. Since I was a kid, I've been fascinated by the way in which closer objects appear to pass by quicker than ones which are further away, and I wondered if this effect would carry over to the camera. I took several shots during the course of the journey, but the most promising pics were those which I took along the coastal stretch of the track, and the results were interesting enough for me to decide to use one of them for today's blip. They already had a painterly quality straight out of the camera, so I played around in iPhoto to exaggerate this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.