Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Return to the sugar factory

Today I revisited the sugar factory demolition site. I was there on March 30 too. I thought it would be cool to show the whole site in a panorama. Never did that before but now with my new tripod I felt confident I could do it.

Still took me quite a bit of time because the Canon PhotoStitch tool doesn't work on my Mac, but I managed to do it with Hugin; a great tool and free too!

To the right, just in front of the big silos, you can see the scene of the March 30 blip. Also in front of the silos you can see a smaller brown chimney that was uncovered during the demolition work. The left side is where all the debris is sorted. In the middle you can now see trees; that never was visible when the factory was still standing.

As I type this I'm witnessing a very important event for Ellis: at 19 months, she is now finally walking all by herself. She's been walking back and forth between the living room and the dining room and she just doesn't want to stop! That's a great relief for Martine and me; we thought it took long enough...

Have a great Saturday night folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.