random rancid rambles

By rancidand

There's more to Kolkata than bridges and cocktails

Temple, Poet's house and a walk across the bridge were experienced between sporting events and the plan was a ferry trip across the river in the cool of the evening.

First, Robbie wanted to join me for cocktails. I ordered us Margharitas which according to the menu have Cointreau in. After a while it became apparent something was missing so I wandered over - Robbie was already there watching the mechanics. The guy was about to add Vermouth!
"There is no vermouth in a margharita"
"It;ll add flavour"
"Where is the Cointreau"
"Sent down for a bottle sir"
I retreated to the seat and observed. 5 mins later after no additions the lad comes to pick the drinks up, I shake my head, he moves them to another part of the bar before bringing them 5 mins later.
"There's no Cointreau in that"
"No sir, you ordered a Martini"
After the outburst he took them away and brought us cocktails they could supply. Anyone ever had a Tequila Martini?
So in an act of ingratiation he came and suggested a few more - Robbie wanted to try the one on fire. I refused. I took a video, it was a large amount of alcohol on fire pured down the victim's throat as he reclines.
I had a chilli shooter.
We then had the equivalent of a tequila slammer - with a large measure of tequila.

And so to the ferry - where I took loads of out of focus shots - it was my eyes your honour, they were blurred. And then to a local bar, where we met Mr Naive again, he asked more questions and had half a beer. We got a cab to a hotel over the river so I could see the bridge again. When we got there it was the Taj - a little posh for my liking so I thought it would be interesting for Mr Naive. We got searched and then tried to get a table with an IPL view - 20mins wait. I was getting a little nervous of all the opulence but we had a wander and then Mr Naive needed a wee (nerves) and siad he didn't feel well. So we got a cab to another hotel and Mr Naive was sick outside it (he only had 1/2 a beer!). Anyway it wasn't that posh a hotel since they saw that and let him in. As I entered I was horrified to find that it was the
British Curry Festival. Luckily they had another proper restaurant and we had a lovely meal right in front of a big screen.

Whilst the others were getting in (for some reason they were searched more thoroughly than me) I had discovered a lounge with loud music and IPL. We retired there to watch the end of the game. ... and drank more cocktails. A band with two female singers arrived as the bill came. So Robbie was very interested, until they took most of their clothes off to reveal that they were about as slightly overweight as me. He wasn't interested then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.