nina54

By nina

Meeting bufo bufo in Nuuksio

We hadn't made any special plans how to spend this sunday with Timo. The weather was quite nice, about +9°C, a few clouds sailing on a blue sky. As we had our late sunday breakfast I suggested that we'd drive to Nuuksio and go trekking in the woods.

Timo agreed to go, so I made some more coffee in the thermos and a couple of sandwiches to take with us. We hopped in the car and drove half an hour from Olari to Solvalla in Nuuksio.

As we started our trekking I had my 150 mm lens on the camera, and I said to Timo that lets see if we'll bump into a toad on our way. After walking about 20 minutes on the path Timo spotted a toad (bufo bufo). I threw myself on the ground and crawled all the time closer the toad.

Bufo bufo was a very calm wee chap. He jumped only once but then he stayed still. I got the opportunity to get quite close to him. I think there was a mutual approval.

The hight differences in Nuuksio are very big, so the hills are about 70m above sea level and they are very steep. I always forget how many hills there are on the way, even if we have been there tens of times.

We are usually doing an hour and a half's walk, with our picnic break. As we were walking back I said to Timo that there always seems to be more hills on the way back (we walk exactly the same way as we came).

Bufo bufo looks even better as large.

Here are some more shots from Solvalla and they are:

1. On the way
2. Pitkäjärvi (Long Lake) in Nuuksio
3. Bufo bufo
4. Glimmering lake
5. Reflections on my sunglasses
6. Still some ice in the woods
7. Timo in Solvalla
8. Moss
9. Solvalla woods
10. Old spruce

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.