a town called E.

By Eej

Swans and swallows

To prove I am not made of sugar and am not the Wicked Witch of the West, I played around in the rain today. There was plenty of it, so that made things easy.
First, I irrigated the vegetable patch. That mainly consisted of digging ditches away from the drain pipe, watching them fill with water, throwing up dams and finally have the stream flow into a finely engineered (if I say so myself) delta with branches towards tomato, pepper and courgette/zucchini. It was a muddy affair, but very satisfying.

Then the Beloved drove me to the lake. I was all excited because there were masses of swallows circling low above the water and I love watching them. I got less excited when I realised that this will be another spring where I desperately try to get one, just one good swallow shot and fail. They are just too fast and too small for me!
Thank heavens for swans ... big, stately and eager to be bribed with bread, no matter how hard it rains (and it did rain rather ridiculously)

The only thing I don't like about sunday evenings is that they are so close to monday mornings ... but I'm going to make the best of it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.