Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Open heart surgery

When I got my new iPod off my phone providers a while back I gave the old one to my dad. The battery was a bit iffy, if you left it unused for a couple of days it would discharge itself.

Since then it developed an annoying habit of appearing to be fully charged, then as soon as it was unplugged claiming that the battery was nearly empty. If you then put it on to charge again it was fine, but obviously my dad found it frustrating. Last week I ordered a new battery for him (I forget which site I ordered it from, but there are loads of places doing it now.) I finally remembered about it around half past twelve last night and turned my living room couch into a work bench.

I can gladly report that the operation appears to have been a complete success. I gave it a six hour charge last night now I just have to drain the battery completely then give it another six hour charge to ensure the battery is operating properly. The only problem is it's now been playing on shuffle for two and a half to three hours and it's only showing about a quarter of the battery having drained. It will be interesting to see how long it lasts as this battery claims to have about 60% more capacity than the one which originally came with the third generation iPod.

Early indications suggest that it's going to be like having a new iPod. I got that one about 4 years ago now, and if I hadn't got a new one for free then the new battery, which cost less than £20, would have given me at least another four years out of it I reckon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.