Life of a toaster

By jivetoaster

Cardross Street

My lunchtime cycle took me along Duke Street into the East End. Now, as a born and bred Southsider with relatives in the East End, I have grown up with 2 misconceptions about it. One, it consists mostly of postwar sink estates that have subsequently been demolished, and two, there are few tenements left worth looking at. I developed this perception by virtue of the fact that my relatives lived in Easterhouse, which seemed to me as a kid to be vast and comprised the entire East End.

Of course, whilst there's some shameful poverty and ugliness, there is stuff of interest too. And plenty of the traditional sandstone tenements. Dennistoun is one such area.

This is Cardross Street, which sits on a fairly steep southward slope. The tenements seem to almost fall off a cliff, and given that they're the more basic working-class style with no bays, it creates an interesting effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.