Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Warning! . . .

Warning! . . . Construction Site Do Not Enter!

I wonder if this sign were posted on a giant billboard on the main highway that leads to the campus, if more students would understand the intensity of what they are entering.

On May 7, 2009, we had the official ground-breaking ceremony for the newest building. Numerous times I've posted the progress of said construction. Then when I walked away at the end of the autumn semester, I stopped aiming my camera that direction. I guess I was just tired of it.

Once they stopped digging and pushing the dirt all over the site, and started pounding huge beams into the earth, there has just been a steady rising of reality, a birthing of a building.

When the glass was being installed a few weeks back, I knew a level of completion had arrived. Days later I drove into the parking lot, started toward the direction of my office, and noticed the lights shining inside. Wow!

Today they were pouring the sidewalks and starting to finalize the outside. Huge cement trucks pumping mud, guys on their knees, and me clicking my point-&-shoot.

My photo is a little busy, but a year from now, hey, I'll love these details, the angles, and the frame the chain-link fence has offered. I might even love it today. I should have asked if they'd let me put my handprint in that wet stuff.

By the way, you should see what my students built today. Maybe I'll blip it tomorrow. I can't believe anyone has read this far about a building, campus construction. You are amazing. Thank you.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

Construction History -- from recent to past

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Tuesday, September 1, 2009

Tuesday, June 2, 2009

Thursday, May 7, 2009














Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.