Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Spiny Friends!

Aren't they adorable?

This afternoon I started to nurture the cactus cuttings given to me by @5357311 at the concert on Tuesday evening. Following instruction, they're in half and half compost and grit. I hope they like it!

It was incredibly nostalgic - I used to grow both cacti and succulents at home when I was young - my bedroom windowsill was always full of them. When I went off to college and my parents moved house, however, they were dispersed all over the place and I lost touch with them.

The nostalgia even extended to the feel of spines in my fingers! Even though I had the gardening gloves with me, the odd spine prick was inevitable!

Now I hope I manage to look after them well and they grow up strong and healthy.

Oh, and it was interesting trying to tell my Psychiatric Nurse yesterday that I had "been to a concert in Birmingham and met a man off the internet who had given me some flumpophone music and spiny friends" without sounding mad!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.