Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Wedding Day!

Not my wedding of course, I've been married for AGES (well, nearly 9 years) and the Wonderspouse and I have long since given up on the whole newlywed business and settled into a comfortable routine! ;-)

However, according to the man on the telly, around a third of the world's population (really!?!) will have watched Prince William and Kate Middleton tie the knot today! I was certainly one of them!

I took this picture of a magazine and commemorative mug this morning before it all started! I think it's a rather lovely cover of them, and the mug was one of the last things I bought before I realized that I won't be earning money in the near future after all!

I'm not a very cryish or girly type with all this stuff, but was very interested in the whole thing. I like the pomp and ceremony, I like the music, I like the outfits (and was pleased to see that the bride had gone for a full skirt and lace sleeves - even if she had got the colour a bit wrong - wedding dresses are red, as this picture clearly shows!!!).

So, it was a splendid day all round really. The only slight fly in the ointment was that my iPhone had a bit of a funny turn early afternoon - it froze, and wouldn't wake up. However, it then came back to life a few hours later. I cleared out some apps I don't use, and plugged it into the computer for a bit. It seems happy again now! :-) Think I should probably update it more regularly.

And it was rather nice to note that the churlish and miserable people by and large kept away during the actual wedding! In general, people were happy about it! And why not! Like I said yesterday, there's plenty in the world to be miserable about - maybe if people focused on the happy stuff more, life might be that bit more lovely!

Very best of luck to the Royal newlyweds! And thank you for giving so many of us such a lovely day to remember!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.