Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Swimming Chart

This morning I went for my first outdoor swim of the season. The Lido opened last week and I got my season ticket yesterday, which means I can go whenever I want until it closes in mid-September. I'm planning on 2-3 times a week! I shall colour in a box each time I go - once I've finished the first block I shall have reached the "break even" point with my season ticket, anything after that will be a bonus!

It was a nice morning for a swim. I planned on 20 lengths, and very nearly quit in the mid-teens because my shoulders were burning, but in the end I did 30 lengths, which was pretty good for the first go! My usual distance when I'm in good shape is 64 lengths, which is a mile, although I'll have to build up to that from where I am now!

Swimming is one of the few exercises I actually LIKE! I think I just like being in water really, since I also love being in the bath! I sometimes joke that I must have been some sort of fish in a previous life! Whatever the reason, I find the water comforting and therapeutic, and the exercise easier and pleasanter than anything I've ever done on dry land! Oh, and yes, I am back in the "swimming leopard" outfit that I wore last year - fortunately it's large and jolly stretchy!

I also managed to hoover the bedroom today, which bodes well for starting up some yoga exercises on the bedroom floor - another attempt at getting a bit fitter.

And I did a tiny bit of work at my desk, although I'm very tired again now, but we have another 4-day weekend to look forward to, which will be wonderful!

Oh, and I know this isn't strictly related to today's blip, but, for the record, I SHALL be watching, and ENJOYING the Royal Wedding on TV tomorrow. I know that among rather a lot of people on the internet it is terribly unfashionable to simply sit back and enjoy the occasion, but I don't care. Twitter, in particular, seems to be full of people determined to be miserable about the whole thing. Personally, I'm delighted to watch the celebrations as two young people start married life together and the news can cover it as much as it likes - it sure beats the usual fare of either misery (wars, disasters and so on) or bickering politicians sniping at each other. If this means I'm unfashionable or uncool or something, then so be it!

Getting married was one of the best things I ever did. I hope Kate and William will feel that too in years to come. :-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.