Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Cute Baby

Backblipped on 13th May 2012

The day started even earlier than it should have - about 3 a.m.

My brain was too disturbed to settle, and I managed to work myself up into such a state that I ended up having to get up to be sick.

Oh DEAR.

What happens if I can't get to the show, and pick up all the rats, and etc etc etc.

Anyway, the Wonderspouse calmed me down, and I managed a little more sleep. He then made me tea, and helped me pack up the car (thank goodness I'd done all the preparation the night before), and sent me off on what, thankfully, was a largely familiar route.

Amazingly, I got there on time, got the rats ready and put them into their tanks, picked up Beth's baby girls without a problem, chatted rat to lots of people, bought the odd hammock or so, made toasties in the kitchen, talked to a talented artist who can make the artwork I want for my next tattoo, and so on.

I drank flavoured milk to keep me calm and keep my energy levels up. I find milk intensely calming.

This little one was also being handed to new owners at the show - and I chose this picture for my blip because it's such a cute one!

Amazingly, my boys and girls did rather well at the show. IV-XL and Victor got rosettes, Comet and Meteor got a special award for arranging their bedding into a perfect slope in their tank (I'm still giggling at their antics), and Sinfonia, bless her, won BEST PET!

WOW! So proud of her!

After the show, I loaded 3 boxes of ratties into the car, and set off for Leicester, where I spent a lovely evening with a lovely girl, and collected my new baby - who I've called Hypatia, or Patti for short.

Patti had quite a start in life - her mother was bought as a friend for another rat by a lovely girl called Jenny. One day, when Jenny was cleaning out her two girls, she emptied the base of the cage into a bin liner as usual (both rats being safely in their carry box), then carried it out to the dustbin. However, just before she put it into the bin, it started squeaking - she ran back to the house and emptied the contents on the kitchen floor and discovered 8 tiny babies in a bit of bedding. Happily, she gave them back to mum, who successfully reared them all! Phew!

After sitting talking rat for quite some time, I headed for home. It was a late evening, and a late bedtime, but a lovely day.

I was glad I didn't try to put my hood up though - when I took my hoodie off to go to bed, the hood was full of rat droppings!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.