Blipping Along

By BlippingAlong

An Anonymous Postbox....

I had a very colourful blip lined up for today when I bumped into a neighbour who showed me a red pillar postbox he had in his garden (in previous incarnations his house had been a post office, village shop and butchers). I hadn't paid much attention to the postbox over the years, and what a gem I've missed.

Its a very unusual postbox as it has no Royal insignia on it - apparently they were made between 1879 to 1892 before the VR was added. I believe that they were called anonymous postboxes.

Its extraordinary to think that once upon a time there were 10 collections a day, and there were even a collection on Sundays and Bank Holidays... apparently our current postman wasn't impressed when he saw it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.