A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Sur la plage

"What a wonderful place to be,
Won't you come and have a dip with me?"

Or words to that effect. It's a very long time since my participation in a school production of The Boyfriend.

Anyway, it was indeed a wonderful place to be but a little too chilly for any dipping. And it was slightly less wonderful each time there was a heavy downpour. But in a day that has seen almost every type of weather we didn't have to wait long between showers.

Against the odds last night turned into a splendid evening of card playing. Hard to say whether it's the lack of booze, recovering from a major illness, her husband surviving a different major illness, getting older or her husband turning of pensionable age and thus feeling more financially secure but it appears that all the vitriol has left my m-i-l. Leaving in its place a perfectly friendly woman. One with whom I am never likely to share a world view but at least one who I am happy to share a roof with for a couple of nights. And I really never thought I'd find myself writing that. I'm not speaking for Carl - not sure I will ever understand this particular version of the mother-son relationship. Though the relaxed atmosphere and the obvious joy the kids are exuding from the fun they are having means we are all enjoying ourselves. As Carl commented earlier, what started out as a visit to his parents is now feeling like a mini holiday.

Enough familial analysis. Today's blips could have included a sign for the Mutant Express supermarket or scenes from the prettiest village in France (I am told, I haven't checked). Or our rather spendid lunch in a restaurant just next to this lake beach. Or I could have waited and blipped the, no doubt, lovely roast pork dinner my f-i-l is busy preparing now. But you get my favourite part of the day instead - football and frisbee on the beach, in a sunny window. No wonder everyone's in a good mood.

Hope you are too
Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.