gilliebg

By gilliebg

Red Winged Blackbirds

I think I should thank blipfoto for introducing me to these birds, for, although they are one of the most abundant birds across North America, and one of the most boldly colored, I swear that I had not noticed them before this spring. I can't imagine how I missed them, unless it is because I spend more time now crawling through wetlands. So, either blipping has opened my eyes, or has sent me to their habitat, and I have spent the last couple of months trying to get a half decent shot of them. They are great teases; they will pose nicely, but be gone in a flash, just when you think you have them in focus. So, another grainy offering today!

Male Red-winged Blackbirds are hard to mistake. He's a stocky, broad-shouldered blackbird with a slender, conical bill and a medium-length tail. They're an even glossy black with red-and-yellow shoulder badges. Females are crisply streaked and dark brownish overall, paler on the breast and often show a whitish eyebrow. They are to be found in fresh and saltwater marshes, along watercourses, water hazards on golf courses, and wet roadsides, as well as drier meadows and old fields. In winter, you can find them at crop fields, feedlots, and pastures. (But not by me!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.