The Pensioner

By Pensioner

Hope Springs...

After a downbeat few days, it was good for me to see the boy stepping out for a job interview - just caught him in the frame before he turned the corner in the distance. It's actually an apprenticeship - not an easy thing to get these days.
Later on took myself off to see 'Dogtooth' at the Cameo. Look, I like arthouse cinema enough - I'm willing to be open minded and do a bit of work and accept that not everything is going to work. But I suspect that some directors know the arthouse audience and how to work them. Pace - make it as ponderous as possible. Music - none, obviously. Dialogue - minimal with long silences. Character development - leave it out! Narrative thread - don't swear! Baffling events - oh yes, just enough (we don't want too many events in there). Strewth! I did enjoy the bizarre and graphic sex and the occasional bit of unexpected violence, but no - I want my 90 minutes back. Life is short!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.