HALF A HERB GARDEN

This is another cheap shot made by hanging out of the window. The herb garden above is, however, the most brilliant idea I ever had in my entire life. The tiny patch of land at the front of our house turned out to be solid rock pretty much. What to do? The little lawn I'd planned was not possible. It looked really terrible. As you can see, the land drops straight down to the road which runs along the bay hedge below.

Then the idea for a half-moon herb garden dropped into my head from the heavens. I drew a child-like plan, gave it to our trusted builder, Remo. He pasted this ratty plan to the sun dial. He is as hit-or-miss as I am so all of the sections are not exactly equal but it was a thing of beauty. It looked better before anything was planted in it, really.

It is not so beautiful just now in the rain and I have ceased to try to keep both sides absolutely equal. One side is partially shaded; the other is full sun. The earth is only 18 inches deep. The dark section to the left is planted to cilantro. Apart from that it has a full range of herbs,the most used being sage, thyme, basil, rosemary, oregano and rue. I see the tarragon needs cutting back again. The whole countryside is incredibly green after three days of heavy rain. Some of the greens look unreal but the photograph is not "enhanced."

This is the same garden last summer: HERB GARDEN IN SUMMER

Our third drenched day, six more to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.