Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Gym Kit

I had another medical appointment today. However, this one was not in a hospital or a surgery or even with my CPN at home - it was at the local sports centre.

My GP has referred me for exercise at the local gym, partly to help with my depression and anxiety and also to help me lose the weight I have gained through medication. I get 20 sessions at a subsidized rate.

I had my first session today with a very nice gentleman who set me up with a programme and booked me in for another session next week. The programme is a lot less punishing than ones I set for myself, but he explained that I'm more likely to stick to a gentle regime than a severe boot camp style one!!

He also said that the bad news is that depressives are very bad at doing exercise on days they feel low (and has offered to telephone me to chivvy me along and persuade me to attend) but the very good news is that if they do attend then exercise is extremely beneficial and can lift mood very effectively.

I'm feeling pretty good now having been. Pleased with myself for going, and also feeling the mood-lifting effects of the exercise.

In other news, I had an e-mail from the Open University confirming that the long long long extensions I requested for my assignment deadlines have been granted. I spent half an hour on the phone to an advisor yesterday trying to convince her that the extra time would be a good idea.

So much of my life has fallen to bits recently that it feels good to have a day where it seems that I might actually be able to rescue (a) my maths degree and (b) some level of physical fitness!

Maybe it'll also give me strength to help me rebuild some of the other bits too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.