Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Big Shiny Organ

A day of two halves!

In the morning I did a few hours work at the computer, starting to sort out my files and backups (although it'll be a longish job - there is much to sort out - two years of being too ill to do much at all, followed by the aborted attempt at getting back to work have left things in a rather chaotic state). I then fell asleep briefly on the sofa.

The Wonderspouse got home at around lunchtime because we were off to a concert at Symphony Hall in Birmingham. I didn't feel the slightest bit like leaving the house, but the Wonderspouse coaxed me out in his usual way - by telling me it didn't matter if we didn't go, and telling me we could turn round and come home at any point. Once the pressure was off I felt up to it.

So we got to Birmingham mid-afternoon and spent a little time pootling round the shops in the Bullring and surrounding areas. We also had a little Midlands Today related excitement when we saw Patrick Burns, with camera, about to broadcast live (presumably something to do with the elections). We used to get Midlands Today as our local news before they messed around with the TV transmitters and we hope to be able to get it again some day.

After a MacDonalds supper, we set off to Symphony Hall where we heard a few Debussy pieces, the Ravel Piano Concerto (and a splendid Ginastera encore), and then the Saint-Saens Organ Symphony (which was my reason for booking this particular concert).

The organ sounded as magnificent as it looks. Furthermore, we had seats in "the choir", immediately behind the timpani. So close, in fact, that I could follow the timpani part throughout the concert from the music on his stand. So, we had a thunderous organ noise behind us, and a booming timpani sound in front of us - like being in a giant sound sandwich!

The Saint-Saens is also one of my favourites. I grew up hearing it in the car, and it was one of the first pieces I ever played in a "proper orchestra"! Great stuff. Furthermore, I rather liked sitting behind the orchestra - it sounds more "right" to me - having played in viola sections for years I'm used to hearing cellos & basses in my left ear and violins in my right - in fact, when I first had headphones I used to wear them in the wrong ears because the music sounded more "right" to me that way!

So, a great night out! Even though I really didn't feel up to it, it was definitely right to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.