Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Disc Box Innard

So, today was the day of truth. The day when I'd discover if all was lost (well, not all, but a particularly precious bit of video and zillions of hours of work).

I was too tense and stressed to do anything in the morning so I watched The Camomile Lawn on DVD. Then I departed for Scharwenka's house.

We held our breaths as Scharwenka took the disc to bits and, er, wobbled it around a bit. He then plugged it in and got it going (more breath holding) then swiftly copied everything on it to some space he'd freed up on his hard drive.

I started to relax a bit!

Then we allowed ourselves a spot of lunch before heading off to the lab to see PBiggs (who has been a knight in shining armour before - see here) and he supplied us with some spare disc space.

Then it was home again to reassemble and copy the files onto the new, and hopefully more reliable, disc.

And finally, to assemble the whole lot again so I could bring it home and have all my files back with me!

In between all this, Scharwenka & I built a table!

Oh, and Mrs Scharwenka's friend from French class came round - she has a French exam soon, so we all ended up spending the rest of the afternoon speaking French!

Then the Wonderspouse came round and we went home via the Chinese takeaway. I ate, watched Waterloo Road, drank a mojito, then fell fast asleep, waking only for a quick bath and to collapse into bed.

HUGE thanks to Scharwenka and PBiggs for being superstars!

VERY good friends those two!

I shall now spend the next few days sorting out backups and so on, before informing Scharwenka that he can reclaim the space that my files are currently occupying on his hard drive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.