a town called E.

By Eej

Come on, let's celebrate!

This morning I woke up to find the first Irises in bloom. Yay hurray! These ones are at the best spot we have available, with sun on them the minute it comes up. But, I should be Blipping our others pretty soon, as their buds are bursting at the seams as well.

The ants & peonies from yesterday continues to puzzle me. Not the fact that they go together, but why I didn't notice it before. My dad had peonies. My sisters have peonies. Even I had peonies in my city-garden! And lots of ants too! I just don't remember ever seeing them by droves on the buds.
My theory about American ants was blown out of the water when I did a search in Dutch and came up with the same question and answers. So, have I been blind for all those years?
Apparently so.

We're celebrating Cinco de Mayo & Bevrijdingsdag today. The Mexican celebration commemorating the victory of the Mexican militia over the French at The Battle Of Puebla in 1862 and the Dutch celebration of the day Germany signed the capitulation in 1945*

I kinda like the multiculturalness of the combination :)

Salsa and guacamole tonight!


*technically it wasn't until May 6th that the German general signed, but we commemorate on May 4th and celebrate on May 5th :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.