Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Rescued

Low on oil and low on water!

Bob dog was at the groomer's today, so when the gal at "Nikki's Pet Spa" phoned to say Bob was "Ready!" I drove to the "Old Town" section of Norco to get him. Rather than driving right back home, I turned onto the 15 Freeway southbound. I needed to return the computer "air-card" or "wireless internet USB 3G-modem" that my friend Lynda had loaned me.

As I drove the big sweeping turn from the 15 to the 91 Freeway westbound, I thought I could smell epoxy, hot glue. So okay, I was passing an industrial area. As I drove down the offramp into the central part of our city, I looked at the gauges on my car's dash.

The oil light was on and the needle on the temperature gauge was way above the "H." The signal light at the end of the offramp seemed to stay red for an eternity. When it finally gave us a green, I slowly eased out into the intersection. I was sure my engine was about to blow. I wasn't only concerned about me, but I also had Bob dog in the car. Ugh!

Thankfully the engine didn't blow. I was able to get to a parking lot, shut off the engine. and phone Mr. Fun. He has always taken care of our cars. He doesn't even like for me to put gasoline in my car.

So, when Mr. Fun arrived, he lifted the hood, pulled the dip-stick up, and reported, "You're low on oil."

I said, "I think the radiator is dry too!"

It wasn't dry, but my car was certainly thirsty. Mr. Fun went and bought some oil and a jug of water. Then he filled my car and told me to watch the gauges as I drove home. So I did. Everything worked fine.

Amazing what a little oil and water will do.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Well, the "air-card" or "wireless internet USB 3G-modem" has been returned. The verdict: I love it! We've talked to the folks at AT&T and they'd be glad to sell me one. The card itself is $100.00, but there is a $99 rebate at the moment. It is $60 a month service fee, but AT&T claims that soon, very soon, we will be able to "tether" our iPhones to our computers and hook-up to the 3G network that we are paying for already and not need the "air-card."

Does anyone know anything about iPhones tethering to computers? I sure would like to do that and skip the purchase and monthly fee of the "air-card."

So I am currently upstairs in our office with my laptop wired to the modem. This is not my first choice. The misbehaving wireless saga continues. It won't be long folks, it won't and this dilemma will be solved.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.