Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Cinco de Mayo

The two of us did not do anything special for Cinco de Mayo accept go to work. The campus had several events to celebrate this holiday of our neighbor to the south, Mexico.

When I arrived home late in the afternoon, we put all three dogs in the car and took them back to the groomer so that Mitzi and Max could get the fur on their ears trimmed shorter because their ears have been hanging in the food and water dishes when the eat and drink. If I were a good Shih Tzu "mom" I'd let them have long floppy ears, but I'd rather have less mess and ears without the remnant of their meals. Back to the groomer we went (they had just been there Tuesday).

This time we put all three dogs in the backseat and attached short leashes to the seat belt. Then I got in the back seat too just to make sure that riding outside of their car seats would be okay. So I laughed and giggled all the way to the groomer's shop while Chloe did her best to get into my lap. I eventually unhooked her leash from the the seat belt next to me and hooked her into my seat belt. Mr. Fun took Max and Mitzi inside the groomer shop so they could get a quick ear trim. He got them inside and ask our favorite groomer, "Do you do piercing?"

Chloe and I sat in the car listening to the chickens across the field. We were in Norco which is "city living in a rural atmosphere." The sounds kept Chloe entertained.

Once Mr. Fun and M & M were back in the car we drove to the grocery store. I volunteered to stay in the car with the pooches if he'd go in and get the things we needed -- I started listing the litany of things we needed and he got a bit frustrated trying to write them on the notepad in his phone, so he went inside and I sent him a text of all that we needed while I sat leisurely in the backseat with the pooches. It was all quite comical watching the dogs watching the humans coming and going from the store.

We finally got home; then grilled some veggies and some chicken; and as soon as we finished eating, we immersed ourselves in the heated spa portion of the pool. Soaking in the spa was a fabulous way to finish this day. We were in bed before 10:00 which is earlier than usual and so needed.

That's it for this Mexican holiday in Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun, and Chloe, Mitzi, and Max

P.S. This photo from my cheapie camera is a bit blurry because the light of day was going away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.