Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Auvers sur Oise

I decided to escape Paris for the day and took the train to Auvers sur Oise. This is the small town by the river Oise where Van Gogh stayed for the last two months of his life and painted 78 canvasses. Now more than a century later you can still see the scenes he painted, walk the narrow streets and visit the room where he stayed above the Auberge Ravoux. I felt strangely emotional to stand in his tiny room, lit only by a sky light in the roof.

It was a really lovely day, feeling the sun on my skin and being able to see the huge expanse of sky above. I think I am ready to leave Paris now - I am missing home and the children - but it has been a great opportunity to think and be myself, to decide what comes next and move forward with that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.