diaspora

By diaspora

Feathered violence

Walking the dog in the bush today I came across two different piles of feathers on the path. There was no sign of the body parts of the owner of the blue, black feathers - possibly a tui - but it seemed likely there had been some violent incident.

At one point Luca - my dog - ran into the bush and flushed out the predator: a large, black bird with enormous wingspan that flapped heavily to get aloft without dropping the prey clutched in its talons. In a moment, and before I could raise my camera, it was gone.

After considerable thought - and for a whole host of different reasons - I've decided to add an image and a journal entry only intermittently from now on. Although I still carry my camera daily, and retain that visual sensibility honed by the search for the daily image, I don't want to feel the pressure of daily posts. What started out as a very useful device was becoming a chore. I do want to stay in touch with the people I've connected to in this community: this way I get to have my cake, and eat it...at least I hope so ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.