OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Hamnavoe from Stromness

Compared to yesterday, there was a lot more interesting cloud today, so I'm posting this. The black and white vesrion was good, but I just plumped for this.

More here.

I was at Stromness to do some training with ORCA (Orkney Research Centre for Archaeology) in how to do some basic site surveys. We were at the Ness battery, which protected the outer edges of Scapa Flow in two world wars. I often stop at such sites during my coastal walks, not least for the good vantage points they afford for watching wildlife and shelter while I make my coffee. The sites may not be pretty but I think they are very atmospheric and frequently photograph them. They are often lonely places, staring blindly out to sea for long dead enemies. Talk about fun

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.