OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Bay of Sandside from Quoys

The ferry to north Hoy skirts the island of Graemsay. I hadn't visited because it is a pretty small island and I thought there wouldn't be much to see. I went today, though and had a really good walk. It was snowing as I got there, fortunately it cleared quickly, and the day was mostly sunny. Plenty of cloud, though, as you can see here, and the cold north wind never let up.

The lighthouse is Hoy Sound High Lighthouse, completed in 1851, built by Alan Stevenson. The family now in the lightkeeper's house has a website about life there. The 'keeper's houses here and at Low Lighthouse are in 'Stevenson's classic Egyptian style' according to the RCAHMS. I am posting more photos from the day here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.