LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Work in Progress

I blipped this art work in progress at the foot of Middle Meadow Walk this morning before it was walked and cycled over by the path users.
It depicts a huge compass and is being executed by a Canadian street artist, Victor, whom we spoke to last week as we passed.
He drew the outline in chalk first and now he's painting it with a very steady hand - the lines have no discernible wobble in them at all.
I was hoping to blip him at work, but our time schedules don't seem to coincide and I haven't seen him since.

His Lordship has been in some distress of late about the moss in his beloved lawn and having weeded it all out, he was keen to buy some turf for the gaps left behind.
We went to the garden centre and saw the crates of the turf rolls at the front door, but decided to have a coffee first. Big mistake, for when we came out it had all gone. He was not a happy bunny, I can tell you!

While he footered about in the garden this afternoon, it was a case of carpe diem for me as I tackled the below stairs cupboard which has been hosting things which haven't seen daylight for 15 years.
I unearthed a shopping trolley of oil paints and other arty stuff which I last used long ago, but whose heady smell of turpentine and linseed oil brought back so many memories of friendships based on a common interest and strivings to acquire the rudiments of painting.
Also found were dozens of drawing pads filled with amateur attempts at figure drawing and still life.
Everything was allocated to the charity shop, the flames or to friends still going to art classes.

I found it really hard to let go of the drawings, bad though they were, but it was even harder to burn a case of all my running and cycling numbers collected over 15 years. It feels as though I have shed the skin of my former life and am starting over again with no baggage and nothing to define my past.

This may or may not be a good thing, and I hope I don't regret it . Time will tell.

PS There is a big article about Joe and Blipfoto in the Ecosse section of The Sunday Times today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.