Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

New Boots

One of the purposes of yesterday's visit to town was to hunt for some new walking boots for me. As you can see from this picture the soles on my old ones have completely disintegrated!

I suspect this disintegration started when I wore the boots on rather warm ground during a trip to Iceland a few years ago and was completed last summer during a particularly wet and muddy ascent of Pen-y-Ghent in the Yorkshire Dales. We had been aiming to do Ingleborough and Whernside too on that trip, thus completing the "Three Peaks", but were driven back by horizontal freezing rain (in July). Furthermore, I was actually quite ill at the time although unaware of it.

Anyway, we thought we might like to start doing some gentle walking locally again and start building up fitness and losing a few pounds in the process. Without boots though, I've been confined to streets since I don't want to risk my ankles, having already destroyed one of them in a fall several years ago.

I found these (think it's obvious which the new ones are) on sale, and I'm very pleased with them. Hopefully we'll take them out for their first walk soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.