Brightness....

It's been a wonderful day....and this bright and reflective image says it all!

First of all, I was a bit unsure as to how my first 'real' open house at the new studio would go....i've been preparing, testing new glazes, making lots of lovely pots....and having a great time doing it all, and in the back of my mind is the little doubts, the small seeds of uncertainty! I've only been here less than a year, I'm not established like i was in my other studio....all very unsure! but i love the feeling of the positive energy that propels me to try and put my best work forward and watch the outcome. I advertised the show for 3 days, friday, saturday and sunday (which is mother's day here - and i understand also in some European countries, also the USA)....no one showed up on friday....so my energy was a wee bit wobbly....then saturday we had maybe 5 car loads and most of them bought something, that was reassuring! And then today.....the studio seemed to be just brimming with activity from 10.30am right up until 4pm!!! I was very happy....but then realised my stupidity...i didn't take one photograph!!! I remembered part way thro the morning that i wanted to take some shots of the interactions in the showroom...and then out the window went that thought!

What i loved most (other than actually selling a lot of my pots!) was the friendliness, and openness of these local folks that found the time to come up the Big Hill Road to visit this completely unknown potter! what a good feeling!
And i think most of them stayed well over half an hour....and some even more....lingering over coffee and Terry's homemade banana bread....lots of friendly chatter and an amazing amount of synchronicity....talk about 6 degrees of separation.... i think we found that mostly it was 1 or 2 degrees at most. pretty interesting connections between folks that weren't expecting to meet people they had connections to!

And the crowning glory....my lovely daughters sending me a wonderful mother's day card (via email!) and then Bronwyn helped me decide on which image to use in this blip.....i think she was right on!

So, off to bed soon....with a satisfied soul, heart and wallet!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.