Skyroad

By Skyroad

Karma

Around 5.15 on Wednesday I drove to Dún Laoghaire harbour to pick up my brother and his son. This is one of three shots taken in a hurry, as they were walking towards the car. M had a big case and some smaller luggage, and there was some shuffling of bags and car-clutter to make room for his son in the back of my Yaris.

I drove them to my wife's grandmother's house in Blackrock, presently up for sale, where M and his son would be staying. About an hour later I realised that I couldn't remember where I'd put my camera (in its new Crumpler bag). It took about 5 minutes to ascertain that it wasn't in the car, or anywhere else. I didn't panic, just felt a little numb and queasy. I drove fast back to the harbour, but didn't believe there was any need to rush. A nice new bag with a hefty (about 3,500 Euros) Canon 5D sitting on the pavement yodling "take me" to the generous sprinkling of junkies hanging out in the general vicinity... what were the chances of it lasting more than 5 minutes?

It wasn't on the pavement of course. And the harbour building was almost deserted. The restaurant was closing, its shutters half down. I bent and entered, without hoping for much. A waitress told me to check with the harbour police, that a bag had been found! But there were no police in sight, just the narrow podium that served for a desk. I asked the one ticket seller, busy with a couple of customers, where the police were. He told me to pick up the phone on their desk and diall 100. So I did.

No, they hadn't seen any bag. My heart dropped again. I went back to the ticket guy, then turned and saw my bag! It was sitting behind the harbour police desk/podium, still whining "take me" but in a smaller, more whispery voice. Turned out one of the waitresses had seen it and taken it in, depositing it at the harbour police desk. I tried to give her some money as a gesture of thanks. She smiled but wouldn't take it. So here once more are my thanks, and the best of karma. I will try to pass it on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.