Instography

By Instography

Opportunity Knocks

I'm not really a bird guy. I mean, I like them and have been known to take the kids to Vane Farm for a wander and a bit of a watch but taking photos of them usually needs more lens than I've got and more silence than can be provided by a five six (blush) year old and a two year old.

But sometimes an opportunity presents itself that is too good to miss. This guy was standing in the Water of Leith (near the bridge, just by Pizza Express) motionless so I could just walk slowly down the stairs and take a few snaps. The traditional side view was a bit dull frankly. Lens not long enough and bird too angled away from the camera to get a really good view. A longer lens and a full face would have been interesting. But, I thought, what might be interesting and slightly unusual would be to take it from above, leaning over the bridge. How amusing: a bird's eye view of a bird. And only a six-footer on tip toes (with his camera tied round his wrist!) would be able to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.