Alan Boll 22 July 1930 - 11 May 2010

Jo's Dad's flame went out today. He died this afternoon after a long battle with dementia. We knew his time was close so it wasn't a shock but it is still very, very sad to know that such a wonderful man is no more.

Jo called me at work, I came home, picked her up and we went to see him. He looked peaceful. I am happy that his battle is over, sad that I won't be able to hold his hand anymore and tell him about my day.

Dad always loved a Scotch. He would only drink the stuff that was bottled in Scotland, be it blended or single malt. It was his belief that if it was bottled in Australia then it was watered down with our inferior brand of water. This bottle was on Dad's shelf when we sold his house and moved him into the home just over a year ago. I decided to keep it to open when he died. I am sipping on this wonderful stuff while I type.

I also have to say that the care Dad got while in the home was second to none. Jo and I were so happy when they had a place for him and in the time that he has been there the ladies have looked after him much better than we could have. Without them Dad's last days would not have been so comfortable.

We'll miss you Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.