Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Sul C

Instructions for today's blip: pause, put down bow, pick up camera, take photo, put down camera, pick up bow, continue!

Love playing on the C string - it has a super rich sound that is one of the fabulous wonders of the viola. Spent a long time playing this morning - the biggest achievement of the day by far. When playing is going well there's nothing else like it. Wonderful stuff.

The piece in this shot is the Bax Legend for Viola. It's not technically on the repertoire list I'm working from at the moment, but I'm trying to get hours and hours of notes under my fingers to get their strength back. I used to play the piece pretty well - even performed it publicly several years ago. It's certainly good exercise for my fingers.

My former teacher, Martin Outram, recorded it for Naxos, if you're interested in listening to it!

Apologies for the naked nails - they're between paintings at the moment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.