nina54

By nina

Intriguing adventure

Some weeks ago when I'd been at the dentist for one of my tooth being a bit awkward she took an x-ray to find out what was going on. Later I got the information that there was an infection between the root and the cheek bone. My dentist said that the only choice was to have surgery on it.

I usually worry a lot before these kind of operations. So last night Timo asked me if I felt I felt afraid to go to the surgery. I said to him that I had decided to take it easy and quoted him: "It is what it is".

I have been practicing meditation for a couple of years and now I have actively done so to avoid any panic. Last night I didn't sleep too well and I woke up very early. I meditated for an hour and felt quite good and peaceful.

My dentist had prescribed a sedative (it is important to be able to stay very still with the mouth open for one hour) and painkillers to take one hour before the operation. I took the pills and waited for Joni to come and pick me up. He was so kind to drive me to dentist and back home again.

The sedative definitely worked, I felt very light and talkative during the way to the operation. As a sat down on the operation chair I told about blip and asked if I could take a photo of the dental surgeon and the nurse. They agreed.

The whole operation was quite interesting. The only pain that I felt was the local anesthesia. The surgeon cut my outer gum open along the root of the tooth. Then she cleaned the bone. There was a pretty big noise when she drilled through the bone and carved away the infected parts. But I didn't really mind.

Now there are about 5 stitches in my upper gum. The stitches which go under the tissue will melt away but the outer ones will be removed in a week. I have to keep an ice pack on my cheek every half an hour for as well half an hour until 22pm.

It is expected that there will be quite a lot of pain for the three next days, also swelling and bruising. So I'll be awaiting for some more intriguing experiences.

As I'm writing this I can still feel the effect of the sedative. I made so many spelling mistakes during this typing but I think that I finally got it right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.