Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Another sunset

Here's another sunset, just like yesterday. Capturing this was a weird experience. There were lots of clouds all around, but about half an hour before sunset a huge wedge appeared in the clouds. I just needed to go outside and walk about 50 meters to get to the spot where this picture was taken. The wedge was already closing and by the time I started taking pictures it had started raining. I don't think I have ever photographed a sunset while standing in the rain before.

Before I rushed out the house, I had been using our Panasonic Lumix camera and took some macro shots of the flowers we bought for Mothers Day last Sunday. It was a close call between the image you're looking at right now and this runner-up. In fact, I'm still not sure I did the right thing; the stamens in my runner-up just look so great...

Edit: again I failed to notice that there's a windmill in the shot too; all the way to the right. This time it's a modern version though, used to generate electricity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.