Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

To Live and Let Live

A busy family and work life such as mine spares little time for indulging in pastimes and passions. I am however very fortunate to be surrounded by the best of friends and family, who I enjoy my time with greatly. What little time is left, I like to spend in walking shoes, on a bike, with trowel in hand or behind a camera. In an ideal world, I'd be able to combine all these things, but there are limits to what can be achieved with a young family and a full-time job.

Gardening is however becoming the exception to prove the rule. Armed with two young helpers, we set off for the bottom of the garden where we can be found enjoying our time hidden away behind the rose trellis tending to the growing vegetables. Things don't always go as I'd like, but as I've written before I'm keen to encourage the greening fingers of our children. So I'm happy to let things take their own course within reason.

To many a keen gardener, the sight of a dandelion growing usually provokes only one kind of reaction, ending in the demise of the hardy weed. But a few have found a place in our garden. Young under-gardeners have a habit of losing concentration and find themselves in need of alternative therapy. Dandelion clocks are an invaluable distraction at times when the limits of fatherly patience prompt a change of tact, engaging the youngsters in play whilst order is returned to the vegetable plot.

Life is full. Its full of compromises and until Camelot get their act together by pulling out the right numbers, I'll be quite content to live and let dandelions live. Oh and before I forget, my beloved is becoming quite a smart shooter behind the camera. Credit is due entirely to her for today's blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.