A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Blue sky, no clouds

At the time last night felt like it did nothing to improve my bad mood of yesterday. Tube issues meant cancelled cards and little evening left between dinner and bed. You'd think then that after a night dealing with child's nightmares and an early alarm call that today's mood would be even worse.

I am delighted to report that is not the case. And thanks in no small part to the subject of this image. I could tell you a sickeningly romantic tale of why Euston is so important to me and Carl but I won't. Let's just say one of us taking a train journey 11 years ago was important. It's a long time since I've caught a train here and just walking onto the concourse made me smile and remember some important things. These made me smile too. I walked outside to look for a suitable blip and noticed how blue the sky was. More smiling.

Good humour restored. Reminder of important things giving me a renewed perspective on some stuff that's going on and renewed energy for getting on with stuff. Phew. Am off to spend the day with my mom and was worried I was going to have to fake cheerfulness for fear of spoiling her day.

Am on a train (pendolino thingy, very comfy and impressively fast) heading to Stoke-on-Trent and ultimately Wedgewood. This is our birthday present to my mom. We'll be having a tour of the factory, lunch and then throwing our own pots - guess which bit I'm most excited about?! My mom's mom and her grandma both worked at Wedgewood and I was born in Stoke-on-Trent so not a random present.

I love trains. Off to read a bit more of the paper before we arrive.

If things don't look great today, I can recommend visiting your own 'Euston'.

Lesley x

Update: am now on way home having had no signal on my phone all day - my it's been quiet. So I could have replaced this photo with one of pot throwing but I'll save that for a couple of weeks when the fired pots arrive. It's been a great day and the sun's still shining...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.