For sale. Reduced. Bargain.

I spent most of yesterday texting and emailing and phoning, letting people know about Niall's death, and was emotionally drained by the time the day was finished. So I arranged to meet Carl when he finished work. Friends of ours from the Grand-Prix-lunch gang joined us in Weir's in Dún Laoghaire and then in Dunphy's across the road (where we should have gone to begin with). We spent the time remembering Niall, swapping stories and reminiscences, and looking at photos.

Before we knew it, 10.00 pm had arrived. Carl and I were anxious for food, but the other two declined to join us. We tried Bits & Pizzas but they'd finished serving, so we got a Thai takeaway instead. More memories of Niall hit in as we ate.

It was a nice morning as I left Carl's today, so I stopped off near the harbour for a bit of a blip session. This cut-price boat caught my eye and reminded me of Niall, who was a great one for designer labels and expensive cars and all things like that. Later in the day we heard from Niall's partner, with word that the funeral is to be on Thursday afternoon (just 20 minutes in the chapel at Glasnevin crematorium). We're also to meet tomorrow to discuss arrangements for the ceremony.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.