A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Bluebells?

This morning I walked to Bingley as the road bridge is out of use it seemed easier, on a nice day, than driving all the way around, also I thought there will be lots of blip opportunities. My main aim was to see the bluebells in St Ives woods before they fade away.

I had a great walk especially as there is little traffic on the roads. I marvelled at and blipped the lovely range of greens in the fields and trees along the route and then found the magnificent woodland bluebells. Masses of them I am glad to say as we keep being told that they are disappearing and are under threat from the Spanish bluebell which I regret to say we probably have in our garden.

Rhododendrons, meadow flowers and other hedge and woodland beauties such as wood anemone, which I seem to know from long past but greatly valued nature walks in primary school - do they still do those? -they definitely should.
Past the bridge and ford at Beckfoot and all the allotments and into Bingley through the park where I saw some wild geese.

Down along the river where I saw more geese, ducklings and a yellow bird I didn't recognise but maybe some sort of dipper by its movements. Then I returned on the free mini bus to St Ives having had a coffee and done a bit of shopping. Walking home I caught my first glimpse of summer - a cricket match!

On getting home I downloaded the 77 blips I had taken and yes there were some great shots of swathes of woodland bluebells, a surprisingly interesting shot of cows with a young calf, the geese and allotments were quite interesting too but the colours of the flowers echoed by the washing on the line at Beckfoot farm was my favourite for today!

What a lovely morning, my feet ache and my arm from carrying the shopping but it's great to go out on a blip explore!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.