Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

The Early Bird Catches the Prawns

In an effort to reinstate a normal sleep pattern I decided to stay up all night so that I will be tired tonight. At 5am I walked down into town.

There wasn't a 'morning light' as such due to an overcast sky. It could have been 5pm for all I knew, apart from the fact that the streets were barren.

I stood on the edge of the old pier and watched the Eider ducks swim past in groups, each one reflecting a perfect copy of itself in the still water. To my left there was a fisherman who circled his boat tightly around bright pink bouys, tending to his lobster pots. To me right, on East sands I saw a man stood in the sea. He clutched his arms to his torso and stared out to sea, occasionally flicking his head in my direction.

A lot of weird stuff goes on at 6am.

I went down to the beach to ask why?. He laughed and told me that he was staying up all night to break a bad sleep pattern he had developed and wondered what it was like to run into the sea. Why not? I guess.

These two guys were bickering underneath the edge of the pier. Arguing about a rope, or something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.