Flathead for Dinner

I had one of my best days fishing ever today.

This Flathead is going to be our dinner tonight...with chips. Believe it or not it isn't he biggest one I caught. This one was 67cm the other was 71cm. In Queensland the legal limit for Flathead is between 40 and 70cm. If you get caught with anything outside that you will cop a $700 fine.

Not that I would have kept the second one if it was legal. This one is more than enough for a meal for Jo and myself.

I also caught around 30 Whiting which ranged for 5cm to 24. When I caught this Flathead I had a few in the live well. I let them go. There is no point in taking more than I need.

Amusingly, while I was trying to measure the second Flathead I was stupid enough to put my thumb in its mouth. Bang! It bit me. It's tooth actually pierced my thumbnail. The fishes revenge.

So I can't claim to have done much else today except fillet fish and clean my boat and fishing gear.

Not a bad Sunday really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.